Back to Top!

Rant Don't tell me I'm only into KPOP for the visuals

Relax and talk about anything in general
Page 1 of 1
J-Arc
Post May 28, 2013 @ 9:47 pm

I've been listening to the stuff for almost 4 years now. Are there groups/members I find attractive? Absolutely. But I don't base my admiration or support of their music on it.

First, most recent example: 100%. They look banging, I've dreamt about how hot they are now. But their newest albums sucks. I'm not gonna kid myself and say I like them just because I'd bang any one of them. Their title track is incredibly generic, and the rest of the album songs are boring. I know they're talented, but their tight bodies and exposing outfits won't make me overlook something I outright don't like.

I came for the music, found some good looking biases on the way, but ultimately, I'm staying for the music. I listen to it, I don't watch kpop when I'm driving to work or lounging around.

I've picked up taste in indie artists, lesser known rappers, and underrated soloists. Most of them aren't plastic surgery monstrosities like your run of the mill idol.

Groups like Peppertones, The Koxx, Nell - love em. and they have outstanding full-length albums.. But I couldn't tell you their names if my life depended on it.

Girl groups aside (since you know, I prefer the d), even if the group has looks that I fall for, ultimately, they don't mean jack shit if their music sucks.

I see people who immediately dismiss someone simply because of their looks. Some people wonder why they find themselves getting bored of KPOP? Because you're not open to variety. You stick to your niche of biases, and don't let anyone else in your circle, no matter how talented they may be. I will not be one of those

In short: If you're some shallow, superficial fan whose into KPOP for the pretty faces - good for you. Just don't make the assumption that everyone else is, too

yoonrikai
Post May 28, 2013 @ 9:49 pm